Scroll down
Vision

In 2020 Graz is all about “Urban Future”

The Graz Kulturjahr 2020 project kicks off an unique initiative in the Styrian capital city of Graz: in 2020 Graz is all about the urban future and Graz becomes the hub for an in-depth scrutiny of the pressing questions of our time and the future of our cities.

The city is now investing five million euros of subsidies to mount 94 arts and science projects dealing with the following themes: Environment and Climate, Digital Life-Worlds, Urbanism, Social Interaction, Tomorrow’s Work.

Unique in the cultural landscape: Themed around the idea of “how we want to live”, throughout the year all seventeen districts of the city form the stage for the Graz Kulturjahr 2020.

Mayor of the State Capital Graz

Mag. Siegfried Nagl

Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl
Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl

Culture!Development!City!

 

… our three keys to 2020 in Graz.

Firstly, Graz is taking the concept of “Culture” seriously and implementing it in its original sense: our aim is to shape our living environment and to harness it for new and seemingly unusual ideas.

Secondly, “Development” is a perennial issue facing urban spaces. Since the turn of the millennium, Graz has become a dynamic hub of knowledge and business. The impetus from the city’s year as Cultural Capital in 2003 has played a major role in this respect. The aim now is to recalibrate the urban development potential inherent in culture.

Thirdly, Graz, like any other “City”, is a place where new ideas develop faster, with greater diversity and potency. The impact of what people think and do here, the visible trends, goes far beyond the city’s borders.

“How we want to live” is the motto of the Year of Culture!

I warmly invite you to be a part of this living experience!

Councillor for Cultural Affairs of the City of Graz

Dr. Günter Riegler

Stadtrat Riegler Kulturjahr 2020
Stadtrat Riegler Kulturjahr 2020

Art and culture pervade all spheres of society. They are indicators of the quality of life of a city, an important factor for citizens to find their identity and they help us answer crucial, if awkward questions concerning the future. The great ambition of the Graz Kulturjahr 2020 is to touch, captivate and perhaps even fluster everyone in Graz, centering on what is probably one of the most important questions facing us today: How we want to live.

 

The breadth that we aim to achieve with the Year of Culture is reflected in the blanket coverage of projects throughout the city. All of the districts of Graz will be involved in the Year of Culture on 366 days, with the programme revolving around the main themes Environment, Climate and Urbanity. The aim is thus to do justice to the overriding importance of art, culture and science for forward-looking urban development.

 

Ultimately, the Year of Culture 2020 will have been a success if the discourse on cultural policy impacts on the way people in Graz think and act and sticks in their minds and hearts in one way or another.

Program Manager of the Culture Year 2020

Mag. Christian Mayer

Christian Mayer Kulturjahr 2020
Christian Mayer Kulturjahr 2020

It was the residents of Graz themselves who shaped the Graz Year of Culture 2020, and as a result it represents the current assessments, observations, expertises and wishes with regard to the future of our city—and indeed cities! After all, like many other European cities, Graz is facing similar, urgent questions of urban living in which specific local conditions and global developments are mutually dependent.

The calendar of events is rich and varied, the contributions informative, stimulating and entertaining. They stem from fields of scientific research including town planning, architecture, life sciences or robotics and venture deep into the universe of the various genres of art: theatre, the visual arts or electronic music. Some of the projects focus on very specific economic sectors such as waste management and public utilities, small trades businesses, high technology, the creative industries or forestry. Many of the projects on the programme run for a period of several weeks or months: we encounter them in public space, we can visit them as exhibitions in museums, they invite us to take part in workshops or to listen in on university lectures. The Graz Kulturjahr 2020 projects often aim to make direct contact with the residents of Graz, with many being developed with local citizen participation. The ninety-four projects are developed by hundreds of active participants who, in addition, often cooperate closely with nurseries, schools, neighbourhood centres and communities.

We invite you to take a look at what’s happening in your neighbourhood, in your district. I am sure that there will be something for you, something that catches your interest and gets you excited and hope you enjoy the various events.

Team Kulturjahr 2020

Team Büro Kulturjahr 2020
Team Büro Kulturjahr 2020

The Team Graz Kulturjahr 2020 (from left):
Valerie Soran, MA
Sara Lesky
Alexander Pipam, MA
Mag. Christian Mayer (Head)

Stadt Graz Kulturamt
Office Graz Kulturjahr 2020
Stigergasse 2, 8020 Graz, Austria
+43 316 872 4940
kulturjahr.2020@stadt.graz.at

Program Advisory Board

Darrel Toulon, former ballet director of the Oper Graz; freelance choreographer, director and lecturer

DI Günter Koberg, former head of Baukultur Land Steiermark

Mag. Christian Mayer, Program Manager Graz Kulturjahr 2020

Mag.a Monika Pessler MSC, Director Sigmund Freud Museum

GDR. Christoph Thun-Hohenstein, General Director and Artistic Director MAK – Austrian Museum of Applied Arts / Contemporary Art Vienna and Director of the VIENNA BIENNALE

Mag.a Annette Knoch, head of literary publishing company  “Droschl”

Prof. Mark Blaschitz, Professor of Housing, Fundamentals and Design in the Architecture Section at the Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design; Co-founder of the Graz artist collective “SPLITTERWERK”

Mag.a Bettina Steindl (not in the picture), project manager of the “Kultur Perspektiven 2024”

Involved

Programm-Manager: Christian Mayer

Office Kulturjahr 2020: Sara Lesky, Valerie Soran, Alexander Pipam

Communication: TRAFO – developing arts & audiences, Anna Hartweger, Andreas R. Peternell

Graphic Concept: Perndl+Co

Graphic Design and Processing: achtzigzehn – Konzept & Gestaltung GmbH

go topgo top

Graz Kulturjahr 2020 is supported by:

Scroll down
Vision

2020 steht ganz Graz
im Zeichen der „Urbanen Zukunft“

Mit dem Projekt Graz Kulturjahr 2020 startet die steirische Landeshauptstadt Graz eine einzigartige Initiative: 2020 steht ganz Graz im Zeichen der Urbanen Zukunft und wird zum Zentrum einer umfassenden Beschäftigung mit den virulenten Fragestellungen unserer Zeit und zur Zukunft unserer Städte.

Fünf Millionen Euro Fördergeld investiert die Stadt zur Realisierung von 94 Projekten aus Kunst und Wissenschaft zu den Themen Umwelt und Klima, Digitale Lebenswelten, Urbanismus und Stadtplanung, Soziales Miteinander und Arbeit von Morgen.

Wohl einzigartig in der internationalen Festivallandschaft ist die ganzjährige Auseinandersetzung wie wir leben wollen, in deren Rahmen Veranstaltungen, Installationen, künstlerische Interventionen, Ausstellungen, Performances, Symposien und Events in allen 17 Stadtbezirken stattfinden werden.

Bürgermeister der Landeshauptstadt Graz

Mag. Siegfried Nagl

Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl

Kultur!Entwicklung!Stadt!

… unser dreifacher Schlüssel zum Jahr 2020 in Graz.

Denn Graz nimmt zum ersten den Begriff „Kultur“ in seinem ursprünglichen Sinn ernst und wahr: Wir gestalten unseren Lebensraum, machen ihn fruchtbar für neue, auch ungewöhnlich erscheinende Ideen.

Zum zweiten ist „Entwicklung“ ein immerwährendes Thema urbaner Räume. Graz hat sich seit der Jahrtausendwende zu einem dynamischen Wissens- und Wirtschaftszentrum entwickelt. Die Impulse aus dem Kulturhauptstadtjahr 2003 haben wesentlich dazu beigetragen. Nun gilt es die der Kultur inhärenten Stadtentwicklungspotenziale neu zu kalibrieren.

Und zum dritten ist Graz wie jede „Stadt“ ein Ort, an dem sich neue Idee schneller, vielfältiger und wirkmächtiger entwickeln. Was hier gedacht, getan und sichtbar wird, strahlt weit über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus.

„Wie wir leben wollen“ ist das Motto des Kulturjahrs!

Zum Mitleben und Miterleben lade ich Sie herzlich ein!

Kulturstadtrat der Stadt Graz

Dr. Günter Riegler

Stadtrat Riegler Kulturjahr 2020

Kunst und Kultur durchdringen alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft. Sie sind Indikatoren für die Lebensqualität einer Stadt, wichtiger Faktor in der Identitätsfindung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und sie helfen uns unbequeme aber ebenso wichtige Fragen der Zukunft zu beantworten. Das Kulturjahr 2020 hat den großen Anspruch alle Grazerinnen und Grazer gleichermaßen zu berühren, zu fesseln, vielleicht auch aufzuregen und stellt eine der wohl wichtigsten Fragen unserer Zeit, Wie wir leben wollen, in den Mittelpunkt.

Die Breite, die wir mit dem Kulturjahr erreichen wollen, bildet sich in der flächendeckenden Bespielung der ganzen Stadt ab. Alle Grazer Bezirke werden mit den Themenschwerpunkten Umwelt, Klima und Urbanität über 366 Tage lang in das Kulturjahr miteinbezogen. Der großen Bedeutung von Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft für eine zukunftsorientierte Stadtentwicklung wird so Rechnung getragen.

Am Ende wird das Kulturjahr 2020 dann geglückt sein, wenn der kulturpolitische Diskurs das Denken und Handeln der Grazerinnen und Grazer erreicht hat und in welcher Form auch immer in den Köpfen und Herzen verhaftet bleibt.

Programm-Manager des Kulturjahres 2020

Mag. Christian Mayer

Christian Mayer Kulturjahr 2020

Das Graz Kulturjahr 2020 haben Grazerinnen und Grazer mit ihren Beiträgen selbst gestaltet, es repräsentiert somit die aktuellen Einschätzungen, Betrachtungen, Expertisen und Wünsche zur Zukunft unserer Stadt – und Städte! Denn mit vielen anderen europäischen Städten teilt Graz die ähnlichen, virulenten Fragen eines urbanen Lebens, in dem sich spezifische lokale Gegebenheiten mit globalen Entwicklungen gegenseitig bedingen.

Der Veranstaltungskalender ist vielfältig und abwechslungsreich. Die Beiträge sind informativ, anregend, unterhaltsam. Sie stammen aus wissenschaftlichen Forschungsfeldern wie etwa der Stadtplanung, der Architektur, den Biowissenschaften oder der Robotik, und führen tief hinein in den Kosmos der Kunstsparten, dem Theater, der Bildenden Kunst oder der elektronischen Musik. Einige Projekte beschäftigen sich auch mit ganz konkreten Wirtschaftszweigen wie der Abfall- und Versorgungswirtschaft, kleinen Handwerksbetrieben, der Hochtechnologie, den Creative Industries oder der Forstwirtschaft. Viele Programmpunkte erstrecken sich über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Wochen und Monaten: Sie begegnen uns im öffentlichen Raum, sind als Ausstellungen in Museen zu besuchen, laden zur Teilnahme an Workshops ein oder zum Hören von universitären Vorlesungen. Die Projekte des Kulturjahres 2020 suchen oftmals den direkten Kontakt zu den Grazerinnen und Grazern, nicht wenige entstehen unter Beteiligung von Mitbürgerinnen und Mitbürgern vor Ort. Hinter den 94 Projekten stehen hunderte Aktive, die darüber hinaus oftmals eng mit Kindergärten, Schulen, Nachbarschaftszentren und Communities kooperieren.

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein zu schauen, was bei Ihnen in der Nähe, in Ihrem Bezirk, stattfindet. Ich bin sicher, dass auch für Sie etwas dabei ist, das Ihr Interesse weckt und wünsche Ihnen beim Erleben viel Vergnügen und Begeisterung.

Team Kulturjahr 2020

Team Büro Kulturjahr 2020

Das Team Kulturjahr 2020 (v.l.):
Valerie Soran, MA
Sara Lesky
Alexander Pipam, MA
Mag. Christian Mayer (Programm-Manager)

 

Stadt Graz Kulturamt
Büro Graz Kulturjahr 2020
Stigergasse 2, 8020 Graz, Österreich
+43 316 872 4940
kulturjahr.2020@stadt.graz.at

Programmbeirat

Darrel Toulon, ehemaliger Ballettdirektor Oper Graz; freischaffender Choreograph, Regisseur und Dozent

DI Günter Koberg, ehemaliger Leiter Baukultur Land Steiermark

Mag. Christian Mayer, Programm-Manager Graz Kulturjahr 2020; Theaterdramaturg

Mag.a Monika Pessler MSC, Direktorin Sigmund Freud Museum

DDr. Christoph Thun-Hohenstein, Generaldirektor MAK – Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst / Gegenwartskunst Wien und Leiter der VIENNA BIENNALE

Mag.a Annette Knoch, Leiterin Literaturverlag Droschl

Prof. Mark Blaschitz, Professor für Wohnbau, Grundlagen und Entwerfen in der Fachgruppe Architektur an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart; Mitbegründer des Grazer KünstlerInnen-Kollektivs „SPLITTERWERK“

Mag.a Bettina Steindl (nicht im Bild), Projektleiterin der „Kultur Perspektiven 2024“

Beteiligte

Programm-Manager: Christian Mayer

Büro Kulturjahr 2020: Sara Lesky, Valerie Soran, Alexander Pipam

Kommunikation: TRAFO – developing arts & audiences, Anna Hartweger, Andreas R. Peternell

Grafisches Konzept: Perndl+Co

Grafische Gestaltung und Abwicklung: achtzigzehn – Konzept & Gestaltung GmbH

Das Kulturjahr 2020 wird unterstützt von: